COOKIES ON www.astrealaw.be

Astrea makes use of cookies to ensure that visitors can make optimal use of the functionalities of this website. Cookies can also be used to anonymously track and analyze visitor statistics and to improve the content of the website. Please be aware that in case you do not wish to accept cookies, you may not be able to access or properly use certain applications on this website.

Print Friendly and PDF NL | FR | EN | DE

MARITIME AND TRANSPORT SECTOR

Astrea’s lawyers have many years of experience and expertise in the maritime and transport sector. In an open market such as Belgium and being close to one of the largest ports in Europe, transport, and maritime transport in particular, is undeniably a pillar of the economy.

The maritime sector in Belgium is characterized by the combined action of shipping companies, charterers, road transport operators, governments, shipping agents, terminal operators, stevedores, traders, brokers, insurers and merchants. Together, they generate 60,000 jobs in the port of Antwerp alone. This sector is highly international in character, and also has a number of very specific features, rules, forms of cooperation and common practices which are often challenging for outsiders to get their heads around.

The development of China as the world's largest economy (China now boasts seven of the ten largest ports in the world), economic trends with immediate consequences for the freight and ship-building markets, and other global developments, result in the fact that the maritime sector is constantly changing. This means we have to keep a finger on the pulse at all times.

Our team provides services in various legal disciplines. This integrated approach enables us to provide pragmatic solutions to the most complex issues in the maritime and transport sector.

Our clients include major shipping companies, shipbuilders, banks, insurance companies and insurance experts, P&I representatives, charterers, carriers, shipping agents, governments, other logistics service providers and their clients, and raw materials suppliers and traders.

The thorough, sector-specific knowledge built up by Astrea’s lawyers also enables them to understand and closely monitor all the new developments in this dynamic, constantly-changing sector.

Transactions

Advice in connection with the establishment of joint ventures, strategic alliances, mergers and acquisitions, and the financing of navigation, transport and logistics service providers, etc. Advice regarding the sale, purchase and financing of ships and aircraft, shipbuilding, etc.

Maritime and transport law

Advice on the maritime and transport law (including road transport, shipping and container transport), charter parties, transport documentation, delivery, distribution, dispatch, shipping agency services and other logistics services.

Seizure and enforcement

We can help obtain seizure orders on movable and immovable property, ships and bunkers. Debt recovery, redemption of guarantees, privileges and mortgages are all part of our day-to-day practice.

Logistics services

Advice on the drafting of logistics service contracts (which may also include transport services), warehousing contracts, logistics technology contracts and general terms and conditions. Advice regarding liability, damage, performance of logistics contracts, unpaid invoices and so on.

Insurance and liability law

Advice about damage claims, cargo damage in all forms of transport (maritime, road, rail and air transport and inland navigation), general average, and hull-related claims – collisions, damage and transport insurance.

Property and environmental law

Advice about environmental risks, welfare and safety (e.g. regulations on the transportation of hazardous goods and waste). We can provide advice relating to concessions in port areas.

Regulations

Advice about the regulations applicable to the maritime sector (e.g. registration of ships and aircraft, government inspections, international regulations) and relations with competent authorities, including port authorities.

Employment law

Advice relating to daily and sector-specific employment law questions (such as the Dockworkers Charter), collective redundancies, negotiations with trade unions over redundancy programmes, transfer of personnel, etc. in the maritime and transport sector. We have previously acted in connection with harbour strikes and the breaking up of blockades.

Reorganization and restructuring

As a result of the financial crisis, we have assisted companies in the maritime and transport sector with reorganization, restructuring, debt rescheduling and insolvency applications.

Customs

Advice about disputes with the Belgian Customs and Excise Administration (relating to the value of goods, certificates of origin, intra-Community transport and non-discharge of T1 documents) and about disputes between customs agents and their clients.

Dispute resolution

We protect the interests of our clients in common law, administrative, arbitration and international courts and tribunals, in Belgium and abroad. Such disputes typically relate specifically to maritime and transport law, but also matters of commercial contracts and obligations, leases (including commercial leases), company law disputes, international trade (international sale and purchase transactions, commercial agencies, etc.), recovery of invoices and debt collection in the maritime and transport sector.

Our close contacts with major foreign law firms enable us to provide efficient, high-quality management of cross-border cases.

 

Wondering whether we can help? Get in touch via phone or mail, and we will send you more information about our services and fees.

MARITIME AND TRANSPORT SECTOR

Astrea’s lawyers have many years of experience and expertise in the maritime and transport sector. In an open market such as Belgium and being close to one of the largest ports in Europe, transport, and maritime transport in particular, is undeniably a pillar of the economy.

The maritime sector in Belgium is characterized by the combined action of shipping companies, charterers, road transport operators, governments, shipping agents, terminal operators, stevedores, traders, brokers, insurers and merchants. Together, they generate 60,000 jobs in the port of Antwerp alone. This sector is highly international in character, and also has a number of very specific features, rules, forms of cooperation and common practices which are often challenging for outsiders to get their heads around.

The development of China as the world's largest economy (China now boasts seven of the ten largest ports in the world), economic trends with immediate consequences for the freight and ship-building markets, and other global developments, result in the fact that the maritime sector is constantly changing. This means we have to keep a finger on the pulse at all times.

Our team provides services in various legal disciplines. This integrated approach enables us to provide pragmatic solutions to the most complex issues in the maritime and transport sector.

Our clients include major shipping companies, shipbuilders, banks, insurance companies and insurance experts, P&I representatives, charterers, carriers, shipping agents, governments, other logistics service providers and their clients, and raw materials suppliers and traders.

The thorough, sector-specific knowledge built up by Astrea’s lawyers also enables them to understand and closely monitor all the new developments in this dynamic, constantly-changing sector.

Transactions

Advice in connection with the establishment of joint ventures, strategic alliances, mergers and acquisitions, and the financing of navigation, transport and logistics service providers, etc. Advice regarding the sale, purchase and financing of ships and aircraft, shipbuilding, etc.

Maritime and transport law

Advice on the maritime and transport law (including road transport, shipping and container transport), charter parties, transport documentation, delivery, distribution, dispatch, shipping agency services and other logistics services.

Seizure and enforcement

We can help obtain seizure orders on movable and immovable property, ships and bunkers. Debt recovery, redemption of guarantees, privileges and mortgages are all part of our day-to-day practice.

Logistics services

Advice on the drafting of logistics service contracts (which may also include transport services), warehousing contracts, logistics technology contracts and general terms and conditions. Advice regarding liability, damage, performance of logistics contracts, unpaid invoices and so on.

Insurance and liability law

Advice about damage claims, cargo damage in all forms of transport (maritime, road, rail and air transport and inland navigation), general average, and hull-related claims – collisions, damage and transport insurance.

Property and environmental law

Advice about environmental risks, welfare and safety (e.g. regulations on the transportation of hazardous goods and waste). We can provide advice relating to concessions in port areas.

Regulations

Advice about the regulations applicable to the maritime sector (e.g. registration of ships and aircraft, government inspections, international regulations) and relations with competent authorities, including port authorities.

Employment law

Advice relating to daily and sector-specific employment law questions (such as the Dockworkers Charter), collective redundancies, negotiations with trade unions over redundancy programmes, transfer of personnel, etc. in the maritime and transport sector. We have previously acted in connection with harbour strikes and the breaking up of blockades.

Reorganization and restructuring

As a result of the financial crisis, we have assisted companies in the maritime and transport sector with reorganization, restructuring, debt rescheduling and insolvency applications.

Customs

Advice about disputes with the Belgian Customs and Excise Administration (relating to the value of goods, certificates of origin, intra-Community transport and non-discharge of T1 documents) and about disputes between customs agents and their clients.

Dispute resolution

We protect the interests of our clients in common law, administrative, arbitration and international courts and tribunals, in Belgium and abroad. Such disputes typically relate specifically to maritime and transport law, but also matters of commercial contracts and obligations, leases (including commercial leases), company law disputes, international trade (international sale and purchase transactions, commercial agencies, etc.), recovery of invoices and debt collection in the maritime and transport sector.

Our close contacts with major foreign law firms enable us to provide efficient, high-quality management of cross-border cases.

 

Wondering whether we can help? Get in touch via phone or mail, and we will send you more information about our services and fees.

COOKIES SUR www.astrealaw.be

Astrea utilise des cookies afin d’optimaliser les fonctionnalités de son site web. Ces cookies peuvent être utilisés afin de récolter et d’analyser des statistiques sur les visiteurs d’une manière anonyme et d’améliorer le contenu de ce site web. Si l'utilisation de ces cookies est désactivée, certaines parties du site web peuvent ne pas fonctionner (correctement).

Print Friendly and PDF NL | FR | EN | DE

DROIT MARITIME ET DES TRANSPORTS

Les avocats du cabinet Astrea ont à leur actif plusieurs années d’expérience et d’expertise en droit maritime et droit des transports. Dans un marché aussi ouvert que le marché belge et avec un des plus grands ports d’Europe situé à proximité, le transport, et en particulier le transport maritime, constitue incontestablement un pilier de l’économie belge.

En Belgique, le secteur maritime est caractérisé par une collaboration entre armateurs, affréteurs, transporteurs par la route, sociétés d’entreposage, expéditeurs, opérateurs de terminaux, arrimeurs, opérateurs en bourse, courtiers, assureurs et négociants. Ensemble, ces intervenants représentent déjà, pour le seul port d’Anvers, au moins 60.000 emplois. Ce secteur a une dimension internationale par excellence, et obéit par ailleurs à un grand nombre de caractéristiques et de règles tout à fait spécifiques, ainsi qu’à des formes de collaboration et d’usages établis que les non-initiés ont souvent du mal à comprendre.

La montée en puissance de la Chine, en passe de devenir la première économie mondiale (elle possède actuellement sept des dix plus grands ports au monde), la mutation économique qui exerce un effet immédiat sur le marché du fret et de la construction navale, ainsi que d’autres évolutions mondiales font du secteur maritime un secteur en perpétuelle évolution. Par conséquent, il est indispensable d’assurer un suivi permanent de ce secteur.

Notre équipe fournit ses services en mettant à profit différentes disciplines juridiques. Grâce à cette approche intégrée, nous parvenons à trouver des solutions pragmatiques aux problèmes les plus complexes du secteur maritime et des transports.

Nos clients sont d’importants armateurs, constructeurs de navires, banques, compagnies d’assurances et experts en assurances, représentants P&I, affréteurs, transporteurs, expéditeurs, sociétés d’entreposage et d’autres prestataires logistiques et leurs commettants, et fournisseurs et négociants en matières premières.

La connaissance approfondie que les avocats du cabinet Astrea ont spécifiquement accumulée dans ce secteur leur permet de suivre de près et de comprendre toutes les nouvelles évolutions que connaît ce secteur dynamique et en perpétuelle évolution.

Transactions

Nous conseillons nos clients à l’occasion de la constitution d’entreprises communes, d’alliances stratégiques, de fusions et cessions et de financements de compagnies maritimes, d’entreprises de transport et services logistiques, etc. Nous les assistons lors de la vente, l’acquisition et le financement de navires et d’avions, lors de la construction de bateaux, etc.

Droit maritime et des transports

Nous fournissons des avis dans les matières suivantes : droit maritime et droit des transports (notamment transport par la route, navigation intérieure, transport de conteneurs), chartes-parties, documentation de transport, entreposage, distribution, expédition, agence maritime et autres services logistiques.

Saisie et exécution

Nous pratiquons des saisies sur des biens mobiliers et immobiliers, des navires et des combustibles. Les revendications, réalisations de gages, privilèges et hypothèques font partie de notre pratique quotidienne.

Services logistiques

Nous aidons nos clients à rédiger des contrats de services logistiques, combinés ou non avec des prestations de transport, des contrats de services de warehousing, des contrats de technologie logistique et des conditions générales. Nous émettons des avis dans les domaines suivants : responsabilité, dommages, respect de contrats logistiques, factures impayées, etc.

Droit des assurances et droit de la responsabilité

Nous conseillons nos clients dans le cadre de toutes actions pour avaries, dommages à la cargaison par tous moyens de transport (transport maritime, par la route, par voie ferroviaire, aérienne et fluviale), avaries communes, indemnisation de dommages sur corps et à la suite d'abordages, collisions entre bâtiments et assurances transport.

Droit immobilier et environnemental

Conseils en matière de risques environnementaux, bien-être et sécurité (p. ex., réglementation relative au transport de matières dangereuses et de déchets ). Nous fournissons des conseils en matière de concessions dans l’enceinte de la zone portuaire.

Réglementation

Nous conseillons nos clients sur la réglementation applicable dans le secteur maritime (p. ex. par rapport à l’immatriculation de bateaux et d’avions, aux inspections menées par les autorités publiques, à la réglementation internationale) et dans leurs relations avec les autorités compétentes telles que les autorités portuaires.

Droit du travail

Nous fournissons à nos clients des avis en matière de droit du travail par rapport à des questions quotidiennes et spécifiques à un secteur (p. ex. au sujet du statut des travailleurs portuaires), par rapport à des licenciements collectifs, à la négociation de plans sociaux avec des syndicats, à la cession de personnel, etc., tant dans le secteur maritime que dans celui des transports. Nous sommes déjà intervenus lors de grèves affectant le port et pour faire lever des piquets de grève.

Réorganisations et restructurations

Tout au long de la crise financière, nous avons assisté des entreprises du secteur maritime et du secteur des transports afin de régler des questions de réorganisation, de restructuration, de rééchelonnement de dettes et d’insolvabilité.

Douanes

Nous fournissons des avis dans le cadre de litiges avec l’administration des douanes et accises (litiges en matière de valeurs, certificats de propriété, transports intracommunautaires et non-apurement de documents T1) et dans le cadre de litiges entre des agents des douanes et leurs donneurs d’ordre.

Règlement de litiges

Nous défendons les intérêts de nos clients devant les cours et tribunaux ordinaires, administratifs, arbitraux et internationaux, tant en Belgique qu’à l’étranger. Ces litiges portent spécifiquement sur le droit maritime et des transports, mais aussi sur des obligations et contrats commerciaux de toute nature, des baux à usage d’habitation et de commerce, des problèmes liés au droit des sociétés, au commerce international (acquisitions-ventes internationales, agences commerciales, etc.), à l’encaissement de factures et à des recouvrements dans le secteur maritime et des transports.

Les contacts étroits que nous entretenons avec d’éminents cabinets d’avocats à l’étranger nous permettent de proposer une gestion efficace, qualitative et à haute valeur ajoutée des litiges transfrontaliers.

Curieux de savoir si nous pouvons aussi vous aider ? Il vous suffit de nous contacter via téléphone ou mail. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous fournir, sans engagement, des informations complémentaires sur nos services et tarifs.

DROIT MARITIME ET DES TRANSPORTS

Les avocats du cabinet Astrea ont à leur actif plusieurs années d’expérience et d’expertise en droit maritime et droit des transports. Dans un marché aussi ouvert que le marché belge et avec un des plus grands ports d’Europe situé à proximité, le transport, et en particulier le transport maritime, constitue incontestablement un pilier de l’économie belge.

En Belgique, le secteur maritime est caractérisé par une collaboration entre armateurs, affréteurs, transporteurs par la route, sociétés d’entreposage, expéditeurs, opérateurs de terminaux, arrimeurs, opérateurs en bourse, courtiers, assureurs et négociants. Ensemble, ces intervenants représentent déjà, pour le seul port d’Anvers, au moins 60.000 emplois. Ce secteur a une dimension internationale par excellence, et obéit par ailleurs à un grand nombre de caractéristiques et de règles tout à fait spécifiques, ainsi qu’à des formes de collaboration et d’usages établis que les non-initiés ont souvent du mal à comprendre.

La montée en puissance de la Chine, en passe de devenir la première économie mondiale (elle possède actuellement sept des dix plus grands ports au monde), la mutation économique qui exerce un effet immédiat sur le marché du fret et de la construction navale, ainsi que d’autres évolutions mondiales font du secteur maritime un secteur en perpétuelle évolution. Par conséquent, il est indispensable d’assurer un suivi permanent de ce secteur.

Notre équipe fournit ses services en mettant à profit différentes disciplines juridiques. Grâce à cette approche intégrée, nous parvenons à trouver des solutions pragmatiques aux problèmes les plus complexes du secteur maritime et des transports.

Nos clients sont d’importants armateurs, constructeurs de navires, banques, compagnies d’assurances et experts en assurances, représentants P&I, affréteurs, transporteurs, expéditeurs, sociétés d’entreposage et d’autres prestataires logistiques et leurs commettants, et fournisseurs et négociants en matières premières.

La connaissance approfondie que les avocats du cabinet Astrea ont spécifiquement accumulée dans ce secteur leur permet de suivre de près et de comprendre toutes les nouvelles évolutions que connaît ce secteur dynamique et en perpétuelle évolution.

Transactions

Nous conseillons nos clients à l’occasion de la constitution d’entreprises communes, d’alliances stratégiques, de fusions et cessions et de financements de compagnies maritimes, d’entreprises de transport et services logistiques, etc. Nous les assistons lors de la vente, l’acquisition et le financement de navires et d’avions, lors de la construction de bateaux, etc.

Droit maritime et des transports

Nous fournissons des avis dans les matières suivantes : droit maritime et droit des transports (notamment transport par la route, navigation intérieure, transport de conteneurs), chartes-parties, documentation de transport, entreposage, distribution, expédition, agence maritime et autres services logistiques.

Saisie et exécution

Nous pratiquons des saisies sur des biens mobiliers et immobiliers, des navires et des combustibles. Les revendications, réalisations de gages, privilèges et hypothèques font partie de notre pratique quotidienne.

Services logistiques

Nous aidons nos clients à rédiger des contrats de services logistiques, combinés ou non avec des prestations de transport, des contrats de services de warehousing, des contrats de technologie logistique et des conditions générales. Nous émettons des avis dans les domaines suivants : responsabilité, dommages, respect de contrats logistiques, factures impayées, etc.

Droit des assurances et droit de la responsabilité

Nous conseillons nos clients dans le cadre de toutes actions pour avaries, dommages à la cargaison par tous moyens de transport (transport maritime, par la route, par voie ferroviaire, aérienne et fluviale), avaries communes, indemnisation de dommages sur corps et à la suite d'abordages, collisions entre bâtiments et assurances transport.

Droit immobilier et environnemental

Conseils en matière de risques environnementaux, bien-être et sécurité (p. ex., réglementation relative au transport de matières dangereuses et de déchets ). Nous fournissons des conseils en matière de concessions dans l’enceinte de la zone portuaire.

Réglementation

Nous conseillons nos clients sur la réglementation applicable dans le secteur maritime (p. ex. par rapport à l’immatriculation de bateaux et d’avions, aux inspections menées par les autorités publiques, à la réglementation internationale) et dans leurs relations avec les autorités compétentes telles que les autorités portuaires.

Droit du travail

Nous fournissons à nos clients des avis en matière de droit du travail par rapport à des questions quotidiennes et spécifiques à un secteur (p. ex. au sujet du statut des travailleurs portuaires), par rapport à des licenciements collectifs, à la négociation de plans sociaux avec des syndicats, à la cession de personnel, etc., tant dans le secteur maritime que dans celui des transports. Nous sommes déjà intervenus lors de grèves affectant le port et pour faire lever des piquets de grève.

Réorganisations et restructurations

Tout au long de la crise financière, nous avons assisté des entreprises du secteur maritime et du secteur des transports afin de régler des questions de réorganisation, de restructuration, de rééchelonnement de dettes et d’insolvabilité.

Douanes

Nous fournissons des avis dans le cadre de litiges avec l’administration des douanes et accises (litiges en matière de valeurs, certificats de propriété, transports intracommunautaires et non-apurement de documents T1) et dans le cadre de litiges entre des agents des douanes et leurs donneurs d’ordre.

Règlement de litiges

Nous défendons les intérêts de nos clients devant les cours et tribunaux ordinaires, administratifs, arbitraux et internationaux, tant en Belgique qu’à l’étranger. Ces litiges portent spécifiquement sur le droit maritime et des transports, mais aussi sur des obligations et contrats commerciaux de toute nature, des baux à usage d’habitation et de commerce, des problèmes liés au droit des sociétés, au commerce international (acquisitions-ventes internationales, agences commerciales, etc.), à l’encaissement de factures et à des recouvrements dans le secteur maritime et des transports.

Les contacts étroits que nous entretenons avec d’éminents cabinets d’avocats à l’étranger nous permettent de proposer une gestion efficace, qualitative et à haute valeur ajoutée des litiges transfrontaliers.

Curieux de savoir si nous pouvons aussi vous aider ? Il vous suffit de nous contacter via téléphone ou mail. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous fournir, sans engagement, des informations complémentaires sur nos services et tarifs.