COOKIES ON www.astrealaw.be

Astrea makes use of cookies to ensure that visitors can make optimal use of the functionalities of this website. Cookies can also be used to anonymously track and analyze visitor statistics and to improve the content of the website. Please be aware that in case you do not wish to accept cookies, you may not be able to access or properly use certain applications on this website.

Print Friendly and PDF NL | FR | EN | DE
OLIVIER VAN FRAEYENHOVEN
OLIVIER VAN FRAEYENHOVEN

Q&A

Tell us a bit about yourself ...

I have more than 15 years' experience in Belgian and international distribution law, e-commerce, commercial practices, intellectual property and ICT law, as well as in negotiation, litigation and drafting contracts. I also feel very much at home in the automotive sector.

You're never too young to learn

In 1993 I left my Brussels law practice for a job as Assistant General Counsel at Texaco Belgium. This gave me first-hand experience of how a company works. That experience was very valuable, and I now have a much better understanding of the client's perspective.

In what way is Astrea ‘not just another law firm’?

We deliver what we promise. You'll never catch us making empty promises. If something is outside our capabilities, we will tell you immediately and honestly. Many clients find this approach refreshing.

Good service is ...

Knowing your client's sector inside out. That means not only listening to your client, but also asking difficult questions. I'm also not a big fan of legal mumbo-jumbo; any solution we propose has to be pragmatic and cost-efficient. Protecting my client from all possible risks is my core task, but I always try to go further: what opportunities can I create here? That's when things get really interesting.

What has someone written about you of which you are especially proud?

The heartfelt thanks of my clients always means a lot to me. I don't need any other form of recognition. Although I have to admit that my ego was massaged when I was asked to teach Distribution Law at the Louvain School of Management.



CURRICULUM VITAE

Working closely with my team, I try to lead our clients towards a constructive and pragmatic solution which meets their specific needs and is in line with their strategy.

COOKIES SUR www.astrealaw.be

Astrea utilise des cookies afin d’optimaliser les fonctionnalités de son site web. Ces cookies peuvent être utilisés afin de récolter et d’analyser des statistiques sur les visiteurs d’une manière anonyme et d’améliorer le contenu de ce site web. Si l'utilisation de ces cookies est désactivée, certaines parties du site web peuvent ne pas fonctionner (correctement).

Print Friendly and PDF NL | FR | EN | DE
OLIVIER VAN FRAEYENHOVEN
OLIVIER VAN FRAEYENHOVEN

Q&A

Faisons plus amplement connaissance
J’ai plus de 15 ans d’expérience en droit de la distribution national et international, commerce électronique, pratiques du commerce, propriété intellectuelle et droit des TIC, mais aussi en négociations, procédures judiciaires et rédaction de contrats. D’autre part, je me sens particulièrement à l’aise dans le secteur automobile.

On n’oublie jamais ce qu’on a appris étant jeune
En 1993, j’ai quitté le barreau de Bruxelles pour un poste d’assistant du juriste d’entreprise de Texaco Belgium. J’y ai appris le fonctionnement d'une entreprise en direct. Cette expérience fut pour moi inestimable. Je comprends maintenant beaucoup mieux les difficultés de nos clients.

Pourquoi le cabinet Astrea est-il un cabinet qui se démarque ?
Nous respectons toujours nos engagements. Jamais de promesses en l’air. Si quelque chose outrepasse nos compétences, nous le reconnaissons d’emblée, en toute sincérité. Bon nombre de nos clients se sentent rassurés par une telle approche.

Comment définiriez-vous un bon service ?
Connaître le secteur de votre client sur le bout des doigts. Pour y parvenir, il faut non seulement l’écouter, mais aussi savoir lui poser des questions embarrassantes. D’autre part, je ne parle pas de verbiage juridique, la solution proposée doit toujours être pragmatique et bénéficier d’un excellent rapport coût-efficacité. Ma tâche principale consiste à préserver mon client de tous les risques possibles, mais j’essaie quand même toujours d’aller plus loin : quelles sont les opportunités que je pourrais créer ? Ce n’est qu’en menant cette réflexion que les choses peuvent vraiment devenir intéressantes.

Qu’a-t-on dit ou écrit à votre sujet dont vous êtes particulièrement fier ?

Le ‘merci’ de mes clients me va toujours droit au cœur. Je n’ai pas vraiment besoin d’une autre marque de reconnaissance. Je dois néanmoins admettre que mon ego a été particulièrement flatté lorsqu’on m’a proposé de devenir chargé de cours en Droit de la distribution à la Louvain School of Management.



CURRICULUM VITAE

Avec mon équipe, j’essaie de guider nos clients vers une solution constructive et pragmatique qui réponde à leurs besoins spécifiques et à leur stratégie.